Match reports‎ > ‎

Crawley vs Bosham - Sussex Junior Cricket Festival u12s

posted 26 Jul 2011, 01:39 by Martin Farrell   [ updated 26 Jul 2011, 02:42 by Martin Farrell ]
Jamie Glennie hit a magnificent 111 as Bosham made their first ever appearance in the Sussex Junior Cricket Festival. Glennie powered his way to a maiden century with some glorious pulls and cuts in an innings that included thirteen fours.

It was the first time anyone could recall a match being played between Bosham and Crawley. The day of firsts continued with Glennie's century and he shared a record opening stand of 175 with Thomas Gogarty who scored 42 until he was bowled by Tim Cook.

Crawley kept a good spirit as they toiled against the Bosham openers and the breakthrough by Cook led to a trickle of wickets as Bosham looked to push on and set a high runs target. Luke Haddow was bowled by Hassan Khan for a sprightly 16 and the centurian Glennie was finally dismissed with an excellent run out. 

The home team persisted and claimed four more wickets fell before Thomas Phizackerley called time on the innings and declared on 231 for 5 after 33 overs.

In reply Ellen Burt played a fantastic unbeaten innings of 59 as Crawley battled hard to earn a draw. She was very ably assisted first by Ashit Patel (24) as they added 53 runs for the second wicket and then Matthew Leese (20) as they added 44 for the fourth wicket.

Bosham fought hard all afternoon to make breakthroughs and started the innings with a run out from Ben Farrell in the second over. Luke Spencer was the pick of the Bosham bowlers taking 3 for 10 in his four over spell.

Burt taught an inexperienced Bosham team a lesson in how to play solid defensive innings as she earned her team valuable points. The Bosham captain and his players will have learned valuable lessons in how best to take wickets when a side attempts to play for a draw.

The Festival continues on Tuesday when Bosham host Goring-By-Sea at Oaklands Park.


Bosham  23 points (7 winning draw + 10 batting + 6 bowling)
Crawley 18 points (3 losing draw + 10 batting + 5 bowling)
Jamie Glenniero  111 
Thomas Gogarty Tim Cook  42 
Luke Haddowct Hassan Khan  16 
Thomas Phizackerley *Not Out 
Joe FarrellLBWRonnie Burchell  
Michael Hellyer Ronnie Burchell  
Luke SpencerNot Out 
Ben FarrellDid Not Bat  
Jason BeardDid Not Bat  
Dominic Gogarty +Did Not Bat  
Barnaby WatneyDid Not Bat  
Extras ( 7b  3lb  20w  5nb  )  35
Total (5 wickets dec, 33 overs) 231
Ronnie Burchell50302
Ellen Burt50190
Matthew Leese40230
Hassan Khan30201
Archit Patel40280
Jack Saunders30140
Z Khan30150
Kishen Sharma20150
Bilal Khan20150
Tim Cook20201


Archit Patel Jamie Glennie  24 
Z Khanro Ben Farrell 
Ellen BurtNot Out 59 
Hassan Khan Joe Farrell  
Matthew Leese *ct Barnaby WatneyLuke Spencer  20 
Bilal Khan Luke Spencer  
Jack Saunders Luke Spencer  
Ronnie BurchellNot Out 15 
Tim CookDid Not Bat  
Kishen SharmaDid Not Bat  
Matthew Graves +Did Not Bat  
Extras ( 7b  20w  5nb  )  32
Total (6 wickets, 37 overs) 162


Thomas Phizackerley61140
Luke Haddow50150
Thomas Gogarty50180
Michael Hellyer30240
Jamie Glennie40271
Joe Farrell41191
Luke Spencer40103
Barnaby Watney20130
Ben Farrell2030
Dominic Gogarty1040
Jason Beard10110